Davis Cup Final: Rafael Nadal Leads Spanish Team to Win The Trophy For the Fifth Time

Spain n Argentina Flag

The final round Davis Cup will be held on 2 to 4 December 2011 at the Seville Olympic Stadium. The two teams will meet in the finals are Spain and Argentina. Spain and Argentina are contesting the final for the second time in four years. In 2008 on an indoor hard-court in Mar del Plata, Verdasco was the hero as he clinched the trophy for Spain in a dramatic fourth rubber.

The Spaniards qualified for the final thanks to an extraordinary performance by its No. 1 player Rafael Nadal. The world No.2 travelled from New York to Spain right after playing an exhausting 4-set final against Novak Djokovic and won his two singles matches dropping only ten games against two top players like Richard Gasquet and Jo-Wilfried Tsonga. The third point was earned by the always reliable David Ferrer.

Argentina travelled to Serbia for a semifinal clash in which the South Americans were clearly the underdogs. However, the Argentines took the first two singles points on Friday and arrived into the last day with a 2-1 lead over the locals. Novak Djokovic stepped into the court on Sunday for the first time in the tie to face Juan Martin del Potro and to try to level the score. But the Argentine played at a very high level and the Serb ended up retiring after his back problems became unbearable.

Here is the data that both teams will compete:



Players Name

Singles Ranking

Players Name

Singles Ranking

Rafael Nadal, 25


Juan Martin Del Porto, 23


David Ferrer, 29


Juan Monaco, 27


Feliciano Lopez , 30


Juan Ignacio Chela, 32


Fernando Verdasco, 28


David Nalbandian, 29


You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

2 Responses to “Davis Cup Final: Rafael Nadal Leads Spanish Team to Win The Trophy For the Fifth Time”

  1. Mara says:

    Crossing my fingers for SPAIN! :) Vamos!

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress | Designed by: Psprint San Francisco | Thanks to homeinbayarea.com