Spain Won Fifth Davis Cup Title

Spain Earn 5th Title

Rafael Nadal managed to foil the hopes of Argentina for Davis Cup title in 2011, when Rafael Nadal defeated Juan Martin del Potro 1-6, 6-4, 6-1, 7-6(0) in Seville to give the host nation a 3-1 victory over Argentina. The rubber lasted four hours and eight minutes. Thus, Spain clinched its fifth Davis Cup by BNP Paribas title.

“We gave everything, it was a very emotional victory at the end of a tough year,” Nadal told the host television broadcaster. “Winning in this way, we are very grateful to all the people of Spain. It was the best atmosphere I have experienced in my career.”

Argentina was bidding to become the first South American country to lift the Davis Cup title. It was the fourth time (also 1981, 2006, 2008) it has finished runner-up. Spain first participated in Dwight Davis’ competition in 1921. It also won the title in 2000, 2004, 2008 and 2009.

The atmosphere at the Olympic stadium in Seville is overflowing, each country has fanatical supporters. So it feels very excited and I think that Davis Cup final this time, as the atmosphere in the stadium of soccer World Cup games are being held. Really excited. For the way the supporters, the referee who led the match between Nadal against Potro was forced to give repeated warnings, in order to the audience quiet, especially when the player will do the servicing.
But in the mid fourth set, the referee gave a stern warning and threatened to give a penalty to one team, then the atmosphere is rather quiet, and the game can continue.

You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress | Designed by: Psprint San Francisco | Thanks to